Facebook Twitter You Tube
City of Rochester

    2012 RPD Annual Awards Ceremony

    On May 7, 2012, the Rochester Police Department and the Rochester Police Locust Club hosted the 31st Annual Awards Dinner at the Riverside Convention Center.  Approximately 50 officers were honored for acts that occurred in 2011 which recognized their bravery, commitment and excellent service to the community. In addition to recognizing sworn members, awards were also presented for Citizen of the Year and Civilian Employee of the Year.

    The evening’s top moment was the announcement of the second annual Officer of the Year Award. The men and women of the Rochester Police Department selected an outstanding group of officers as finalists to choose from, including Tim Gourlay, Brandon Ince, Jeff McEntee, Nolan Wengert, and Aaron Wilcox.  

    Officer of the Year:  

    Nolan Wengert was the proud recipient of the 2011 Officer of the Year award.  Officer Wengert joined the RPD in 2006, and has spent almost his entire career working in the south west area of the City, Officer of the Yearassigned to the West Division’s 3rd platoon. His favorite part of police work is actively looking for criminals committing gun or drug related offenses, and searching for suspects with outstanding wanted packages. He is also a Field Training Officer, General Topics Instructor, and a part of the Department’s Firearms Training Unit. He has also been recognized with several Chief’s Letter’s, Excellent Police Service Awards, a Distinguished Service Award, and named Officer of the Month. On accepting the award, Officer Wengert said that any good arrest or investigation he was involved in was solely a result of good teamwork with the people he works with, and he was proud to be considered for this award alongside the other nominees. He expressed thanks to his family, friends, mentors/trainers, and fellow officers. He gave special thanks to the current and former members of West 3rd and the other officers he works with everyday on the street.

    Civilian Employee of the Year:Civilian Employee of the Year

    Laurie Van Brederode works in the Central Investigations Division, and was recognized as Civilian Employee of the Year for her hard work as the sole person coordinating the Department's Missing Persons efforts, including coordinating community interaction and education, collaborating with multiple agencies, and communicating with the families and loved ones of missing persons.

    Citizen of the Year:

    Jorge Torres was selected as citizen of the Year for assisting Officer Pancoe in effecting the arrest of a resisting suspect.

    Officers of the Month:

    Officer Steven Mitchell

    Officer Paul Helfer

    Officer Timothy Gourlay
    Officer Jeffrey McEntee

    Officer Timothy Luety
    Officer Shane DiSanto

    Sergeant Ed McDonald
    Investigator David Giudici

    Investigator Theresa Dearcop
    Officer Thomas Kirk

    July:Sergeat Perez and Officer Wright
    Sergeant Jorge Perez
    Officer Denny Wright

    Sergeant Nelson Soto
    Officer Robert Osipovitch
    Officer Brandon Ince
    Officer James Perry

    Officer Bradley Pike
    Officer Nickolas Romeo

    Investigator Randy Benjamin
    Investigator Neil O’Brien

    Officer Randy Book
    Officer Kenneth Frisbie

    Officer Susan Koehn
    Officer Cynthia Curione

    Distinguished Service Award:

    Officer Randy Book

    Lifesaving Award:Officer Sanders

    Officer Christopher Barber
    Officer Adam Johnston
    Officer Darin Maxwell

    Commendation Award:

    Officer Steven Mitchell
    Sergeant Ed McDonald
    Investigator David Giudici
    Sergeant Paul Grande
    Investigator Glenn Ferguson
    Investigator John Conner
    Investigator David Blaho

    Community Service Award:

    Sergeant Justin Collins
    Officer Antonio Gonzalez
    Officer James Perry
    Officer Brandon Ince
    Officer Steven Swetman
    Officer Steven Kovacic

    Unit Citation:Officer Koehn


    Henry Jensen Award:

    Officer Walter Sanders

    Dr. Samuel McCree Award:

    Officer Susan Koehn 



    The City of Rochester, NY is an Equal Opportunity Employer. | Fair Housing | Terms of Use | Accessibility |  Privacy  | Security |  Contact Us |  Video Tour 

    Translation by WorldLingo