City Planning Commission

Division of Zoning
City Hall - Room 125B
Rochester, New York 14614
Tel: (585)428-6914

rss   Subscribe to Boards and Commissions Updates in this RSS Feed (Internet Explorer Only)  

About the Commission 

Public participation in government is a keystone of democracies and is possible through local board and commission actions and membership. This seven member citizen commission has jurisdiction and authority in the issuance of Special Permits, subdivision approvals, and a wide range of other matters. This board also makes recommendations to City Council regarding Zoning Text and Map amendments.

Authority and procedures of the City Planning Commission are established by law in Sections 120-184J and 120-192 of the City Code. Applications must be reviewed in accordance with specific legal standards in the Code, and a written decision and findings are made for each application.

Public hearings are held evenings in City Council Chambers, Room 302A, City Hall at 6:30 PM, and staff support is provided by the Bureau of Planning and Zoning. See below for specific schedule times, application deadlines, agendas, and hearing information.

For information, an appointment, or application forms, please contact Jill Wiedrick, Sr. City Planner, at (585) 428-6914 or  Applications must be complete to be accepted, and instructions and fees are specified on each application form. Please note that all applications must be submitted by appointment only, or by other specific arrangement.   

City Planning Commission Membership 

Planning Commission members are selected by the Mayor, must be confirmed by City Council, and serve without compensation. Members must be City residents and serve for terms of (2) years, and may serve without limit to the number of terms. The Commission must contain at least one member residing in each City Council district.

If you are interested in applying for a position on the Commission, please contact Bridget Monroe in the Mayor’s Office at (585) 428-6140 or email to

Current Board Members 

David L. Watson, Chair South District                       Steven V. Rebholz (East District)   
Eugenio Marlin, Vice Chair   Northwest District Richard Mauser (East District)
Helen B. Hogan East District Kaeri Carroll (East District)
Milton Pichardo Northwest District   
Todd Bruce South District  
Suzanne Mayer Northeast District  
Molly Gaudioso    East District  
Tom Warth (City Staff) Law Department  
Jill Wiedrick (City Staff) Sr. City Planner   
Zina Lagonegro (City Staff) Manager of Zoning  

Public Hearing Schedule - 2017

Public Hearing             

Application Deadline       


Staff  Reports    



January 9, 2017 December 7, 2016 Agenda     Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
February 6, 2017  January 4, 2017  Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
March 6, 2017  February 1, 2017  Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid   Decisions 
April 3, 2017  March 1, 2017  Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
May 1, 2017  March 29, 2017  Agenda   Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
June 5, 2017 April 26, 2017 Agenda  Staff Reports   Grid  Decisions 
July 10, 2017             May 31, 2017 Agenda       Staff Reports  Grid   Decisions  

July 19, 2017 (Special Hearing)

August 7, 2017       

Colgate Divinity School    

July 5, 2017

Landmark Application  



Staff Reports 





September 11, 2017    August 2, 2017 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid   Decisions 
October 16, 2017 September 6, 2017 Agenda   Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
November 13, 2017 October 11, 2017 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
December 11, 2017 November 8, 2017 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions











2016 Agendas & Decision Grids

2015 Agendas & Decision Grids

2014 Agendas & Decision Grids

2013 Agendas & Decision Grids

2012 Agendas & Decision Grids

2011 Agendas & Decision Grids

2010 Agendas & Decision Grids

rss   Subscribe to Boards and Commissions Updates in this RSS Feed (Internet Explorer Only)