Zoning Board of Appeals

Bureau of Planning & Zoning 
City Hall - Room 125B
Rochester, New York 14614
Tel: (585) 428-6526

rss   Subscribe to Boards and Commissions Updates in this RSS Feed  

About the Board

Boards and commissions afford citizens the opportunity to participate in governance and decision making at all levels of government. This seven member citizen board hears requests for Variances to the City’s Zoning Code, and Administrative Appeals of decisions made by the Director of Planning and Zoning.

The Zoning Board’s authority and procedures are established by law in Sections 120-186 and 120-195 of the City Code. Applications must be reviewed in accordance with specific standards in the City Code, and a Decision and written findings are made for each application.

Public hearings are held mornings in City Council Chambers, Room 302A, City Hall at 9:30 AM, and staff support is provided by the Bureau of Planning and Zoning. See below for specific schedule times, application deadlines, agendas, and hearing information.

For information, an appointment, or application forms, please contact Jill Symonds, at (585) 428-7364 or Jill.Symonds@cityofrochester.gov.  Applications must be complete to be accepted, and instructions and fees are specified on each application form. Please note that all applications must be submitted by appointment only, or by other specific arrangement.  

Zoning Board Membership

Zoning Board members are selected by the Mayor, are confirmed by City Council, and serve without pay or compensation. Board members must be City residents and serve for a term of 2 years, and may serve without limit to the number of terms. The Board must contain at least one member residing in each City Council district.

If you are interested in applying for a position on the Board, please contact Bridget Monroe in the Mayor’s Office at (585) 428-6140 or email to Bridget.Monroe@cityofrochester.gov

Current Board Members 

Mimi Freund Tilton, Chair                 East District     Patrick O'Neill (Northwest District)
Eric Van Dusen, Vice Chair     South District John DeMott (South District)
Joseph O'Donnell Northeast District Laurene Jennings (South District)
David Carr     Northeast District  
James Best Northwest District  
LaShana Stanford Northwest District  
Marcial Morales Northeast District  
Johanna Brennan (City Staff) City of Rochester Law Department  
Jill Symonds (City Staff) City of Rochester, Sr. City Planner  
Zina Lagonegro (City Staff)  Director of Planning & Zoning  

Public Hearing Schedule - 2016

Public Hearing   Application Deadline  Agendas  Staff Reports  Grids  Decisions 
January 21, 2016 December 10, 2015 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
February 18, 2016 January 14, 2016 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
March 24, 2016 February 11, 2016 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
April 21, 2016 March 17, 2016 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
May 19, 2016 April 14, 2016 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
June 16, 2016 May 12, 2016 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
July 14, 2016 June 9, 2016 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
August 11, 2016 July 7, 2016 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
September 15, 2016 August 4, 2016 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid  Decisions 
October 20, 2016 September 8, 2016 Agenda  Staff Reports  Grid Decisions
November 17, 2016 October 13, 2016 Agenda Staff Reports Grid Decisions
December 14, 2016 (Wednesday) November 10, 2016   Agenda     Staff Reports Grid Decisions

2015 Agendas and Decision Grids

2014 Agendas and Decision Grids 

2013 Agendas and Decision Grids

2012 Agendas and Decision Grids

2011 Agendas and Decision Grids

2010 Agendas and Decision Grids

   rss   Subscribe to Boards and Commissions Updates in this RSS Feed