City Council Meetings Calendar 2021

Regular Council Meetings

City Council, following a calendar created each year, meets on certain Tuesday evenings. The "Speak to Council" session, at which citizens can address Council on any issue, starts at 6:30 p.m.

Speak to Council - The Meeting will be held virtually.

Speak to Council is an opportunity for the public to address the Council on a topic they are voting on that month or express their opinion on any other topic. Speak to Council sessions are held the same day as the City Council Meeting at 6:30PM. There are three ways to participate in Speak to Council.

Anyone participating in Speak to Council will need to share the following information:

  • Name
  • Mailing address (no PO box)
  • Phone number
  • Email address
  • Group or organization they are representing (if any)
  • Topic they are speaking on

There are three ways to participate:

LIVE ON ZOOM:

To sign up to speak live via Zoom, call 585-428-7538 or email council@cityofrochester.gov no later than 3:00PM on the meeting day. Please include “Speak to Council” in the subject line or email content. Staff will email the Zoom link and instructions on how to access the meeting around 5:00 PM on the meeting day.

VOICEMAIL COMMENTS:

You may submit a voicemail comment by calling 585-428-7538 no later than 3:00PM on the meeting day. A staff member will collect your contact information and provide a direct phone number to record your voicemail; please only share your name and comments as this voicemail will be shared live.

WRITTEN COMMENTS:

You may submit written comments by emailing council@cityofrochester.gov no later than 3:00PM on the day of the meeting. Please include “Speak to Council” in the subject line or email content.

**Questions, comments, or interest in signing up can be emailed directly to council@cityofrochester.gov or by phone to the City Council and Clerk’s Offices at 585-428-7538 OR 585-428-7421.** 

Interpreters for Speak to Council

If you need an interpreter for "Speak to Council", please call (585) 428-7421 or TDD/TTY (585) 428-6054 or email your request to council@cityofrochester.gov by 4:00 p.m. on the Thursday prior to Council Meeting day. All requests should include your name, address, the organization you are representing (if any), and the topic you plan to speak about.

If you would like to cancel a request for an interpreter, please call or email our Office by 10 a.m. on the Monday or the day before our Council Meeting.

The Council Meeting itself begins at 7:30 p.m. Each Committee presents to the entire Council the legislation it has considered along with its recommendations. Council then votes on each individual piece of proposed legislation, including any amendments.

After Council votes to adopt legislation, it is sent to the Mayor for signature. Enacted legislation is then filed with the City Clerk and printed in the annual "Proceedings of the Council of the City of Rochester".

All meetings of the Rochester City Council and its Committees are open to the public. Until further notice, they are held via Zoom and streamed live on YouTube and Facebook.

  • Please Note: Public Hearings will now be held following the monthly Committee Meeting; which is held on the Thursday before Council Meeting.

Click here for past and present Council agendas, minutes, and proceedings.  

2021 Council Calendar

Agenda Review

Committee Meeting

City Council Meeting

Thursday, January 7

Thursday, January 14

Tuesday, January 19

Thursday, February 4

Thursday, February 11

Tuesday, February 16

Thursday, March 4

Thursday, March 11

Tuesday, March 16

Thursday, April 1

Thursday, April 8

Tuesday, April 13

Thursday, April 29

Thursday, May 6

Tuesday, May 11

Thursday, May 27

Thursday, June 10

Tuesday, June 15

Thursday, July 8

Thursday, July 15

Tuesday, July 20

Thursday, August 5

Thursday, August 12

Tuesday, August 17

Thursday, September 2

Thursday, September 9

Tuesday, September 14

Thursday, September 30

Thursday, October 7

Tuesday, October 12

Thursday, October 28

Thursday, November 4

Tuesday, November 9

Thursday, December 2

Thursday, December 9

Tuesday, December 14