City Council Meetings Calendar 2021

Regular Council Meetings

City Council, following a calendar created each year, meets on certain Tuesday evenings. The "Speak to Council" session, at which citizens can address Council on any issue, starts at 6:30 p.m.

Speak to Council - The Meeting will be held in Council Chambers, Rm. 302A, 30 Church Street, Rochester, NY 14614. 

Speak to Council is an opportunity for the public to address the Council on a topic they are voting on that month or express their opinion on any other topic. Speak to Council sessions are held the same day as the City Council Meeting at 6:30PM. There are two ways to participate in Speak to Council:

  1. The first option is to call 585-428-7538, before 5:30 p.m. of the Meeting Day, to sign up and come to Council Chambers to speak. You will need to provide your first and last name, address (no P.O. Box), phone number, and an email address, the organization you are representing (if any), and the topic you plan to speak about. You may also email your request to council@cityofrochester.gov prior to 2:00 p.m. on Council Meeting day.  Your email must include the topic you are addressing, your first and last name, address, and phone number, and the organization you are representing (if any). You will have either two minutes or three minutes to speak at the session. If there are 20 or less speakers signed up to speak, you will have three minutes to speak.  If there are more than 20 speakers signed up to speak, you will have two minutes to speak.  A staff person will use an electronic timer when you begin to speak to track your time.
  2. The second option is to email your comments to council@cityofrochester.gov prior to 2:00 p.m. Your email must include the topic you are addressing, your first and last name, address, and phone number, and the organization you are representing (if any). A hard copy of your information and comment will be shared with City Council.

Contact: Comments can be emailed directly to Council@Cityofrochester.gov or by phone to the City Council’s Office at 585-428-7538.

Interpreters for Speak to Council

If you need an interpreter for "Speak to Council", please call (585) 428-7421 or TDD/TTY (585) 428-6054 or email your request to council@cityofrochester.gov by 4:00 p.m. on the Thursday prior to Council Meeting day. All requests should include your name, address, the organization you are representing (if any), and the topic you plan to speak about.

If you would like to cancel a request for an interpreter, please call or email our Office by 10 a.m. on the Monday or the day before our Council Meeting.

The Council Meeting itself begins at 7:30 p.m. Each Committee presents to the entire Council the legislation it has considered along with its recommendations. Council then votes on each individual piece of proposed legislation, including any amendments.

After Council votes to adopt legislation, it is sent to the Mayor for signature. Enacted legislation is then filed with the City Clerk and printed in the annual "Proceedings of the Council of the City of Rochester".

All meetings of the Rochester City Council and its Committees are open to the public. They are held in Council Chambers, Room 302A, in City Hall, 30 Church Street, at the corner of North Fitzhugh Street. 

  • Please Note: Public Hearings will now be held following the monthly Committee Meeting; which is held on the Thursday before Council Meeting.

Click here for past and present Council agendas, minutes, and proceedings.  

2021 Council Calendar

Agenda Review

Committee Meeting

City Council Meeting

Thursday, January 7

Thursday, January 14

Tuesday, January 19

Thursday, February 4

Thursday, February 11

Tuesday, February 16

Thursday, March 4

Thursday, March 11

Tuesday, March 16

Thursday, April 1

Thursday, April 8

Tuesday, April 13

Thursday, April 29

Thursday, May 6

Tuesday, May 11

Thursday, May 27

Thursday, June 10

Tuesday, June 15

Thursday, July 8

Thursday, July 15

Tuesday, July 20

Thursday, August 5

Thursday, August 12

Tuesday, August 17

Thursday, September 2

Thursday, September 9

Tuesday, September 14

Thursday, September 30

Thursday, October 7

Tuesday, October 12

Thursday, October 28

Thursday, November 4

Tuesday, November 9

Thursday, December 2

Thursday, December 9

Tuesday, December 14