News Release - Mayor Malik D. Evans Convenes Housing Quality Task Force


City of Rochester 

News Release


(Tuesday, Feb. 15, 2022) – Mayor Malik D. Evans announced today that he has convened a 21-member Housing Quality Task Force, consisting of housing advocates and providers, government and non-profit leaders to develop policies and programs to improve and enhance housing quality in Rochester.  


“Too many people in Rochester simply can’t afford quality housing and as a result, live in sub-standard shelter,” said Mayor Evans. “With this Task Force, we are pulling together our area’s brightest minds to develop recommendations for long-lasting solutions that will make a difference in people’s lives.” 


The Housing Quality Task Force is co-chaired by Aqua Porter of Rochester-Monroe Anti-Poverty Initiative and Carol Wheeler, the City’s Manager of Housing. The remaining task force members include: 


  • John Brach – Mayor’s Office 
  • Shawn Burr – Rochester Housing Authority 
  • Alex Castro – The Housing Council at Pathstone 
  • Stacy Jernigan – Rochester Homeless Union 
  • Linda Kingsley – City of Rochester Law Department 
  • Kurt Martin – City of Rochester  
  • Liz McGriff – City-Wide Tenant Union of Rochester 
  • Miguel Melendez – Rochester City Council President 
  • Elizabeth Murphy – City of Rochester Planning  
  • Barbara Pierce – City of Rochester Communications 
  • Zach Pike – Legal Aid Society of Rochester 
  • Kim Smith – Rochester City Councilmember 
  • Eric Van Dusen – ESL Federal Credit Union   
  • Housing Providers: Matt Bain, Matt Drouin 
  • City of Rochester Department of Neighborhood and Business Development: Lia Anselm, Henry Fitts, Erik Frisch, Daisy Rivera Algarin 


The City of Rochester Housing Quality Task Force is charged with completing its work within 90 days.