Rochester City Council and City Clerk

About Rochester City Council

City Council is the nine-member legislative body for the City of Rochester that works in conjunction with the Mayor's Office to pass laws and govern the city. City Council is comprised of five at-large members who represent the entire city and four district members who are the voice for the South, Northwest, East, and Northeast sections of the city.

Council meetings are generally held on the third Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m., while committee meetings take place at 4 p.m. on the preceding Thursday. City Council meetings and Council committee meetings are broadcast live each month on City 12 and also streamed online. Due to holidays or other conflicts, this schedule is sometimes subject to change. For a complete listing of live air times of meetings, as well as rebroadcasts, please visit the visit the City 12 page at WXXI.

Helpful Council Information

A Message from the Council President

 Councilwoman Loretta Scott-newThe nine members of the City Council are proud to represent the citizens of Rochester. As elected officials, we know it is our duty to serve our constituents to the best of our ability, as well as to preserve, protect and improve the quality of life for city residents through the legislation we review and approve.

The Council places a great deal of importance on governing in a manner that is both open and transparent. We provide public notification of all of our meetings and televise our monthly Council and Committee meetings on the city's cable access channel, City 12.

As the legislative branch of City government, we work in conjunction with the Mayor and her administration to ensure a balanced government, one that has at its core the best interests of residents, businesses and all who have a reason to experience what Rochester offers. While you explore the pages of this website, we hope you will become more familiar with the work of the City Council. Should you have questions or need additional information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Loretta C. Scott, President