Facebook Twitter You Tube
City of Rochester

Do The Right Thing Program

DTRT-Awards-logoThe goal of the Do The Right Thing program is to foster positive relationships between the Rochester Police Department, as well as other local police agencies, and the youth of Monroe County. The Do The Right Thing Award program recognizes youth for their positive behavior, accomplishments and good deeds by distinguishing school-age children who strive to make good choices, do well in school, give back to their communities, or demonstrate “turn-around” behavior.    

All students in grades K-12 that are enrolled in any Monroe County school are eligible for nomination.  Anyone over 18 years old can complete a nomination form.

• Nomination forms can be obtained and submitted electronically on the "Do the Right Thing" website. 
• Or, print the form and when completed, fax to (585) 428-6093. 
• Forms are also available at the Rochester Police Department, as well as any City school or City library. Completed forms can be faxed to (585) 428-6093. 

From the nominations received, a committee selects students to receive the Do The Right Thing award.  Ten students are celebrated at a public, bi-monthly ceremony in the atrium of the City Public Safety building located at 185 Exchange Boulevard.  Typically five ceremonies are held each year.  Some of these students may also have the opportunity to receive a college scholarship. 

For more information, visit the "Do the Right Thing" website, or call (585) 428-7863.

Below is a list of winners from the most recent ceremony.  To view past award winners, and for more information, please visit the "Do the Right Thing" website.   

November/December 2014 "Do the Right Thing" Award Winners

The November/December 2014 ceremony was held on Thursday, December 18, 2014. The following students were honored:

November 2014 Winners: 

Teveon Gates                             6th Grade                            John James Audubon School #33
Irvin Williams                               6th Grade                           John James Audubon School #33
Jahydeen Quick                          2nd Grade                           Renaissance Academy
Jahyleen Quick                            3rd Grade                           Theodore Roosevelt School #43

December 2014 Winners: 

King Tramel                                 9th Grade                         East High School
Natosha Griffin                             9th Grade                         East High School
Inalia Sierra                                  3rd Grade                         Henry Hudson School #28



DTRT Reward Poster 2013 







The City of Rochester, NY is an Equal Opportunity Employer. | Fair Housing | Terms of Use | Accessibility |  Privacy  | Security |  Contact Us |  Video Tour 

Translation by WorldLingo