City Council Committees

The council President, chosen by the nine members of Council for a two-year term, assigns legislation to one of the Council's four standing committees. The primary function is to review all proposed legislation and to recommend adoption, consideration, or rejection by the entire council, either as written or with amendments. Committees usually meet on the Thursday prior to each monthly council meeting. Call (585) 428-7538 for details about specific meetings.


Finance (Malik D. Evans, Chair; Michael A. Patterson; LaShay D. Harris)  

Committees Charge: to review legislation from the Office of Management and Budget, Department of Finance, the Library, the Mayor's Office (Office of the Mayor, Communications and Special Events, Office of Public Integrity, Law, Information Technology, Department of Human Resource Management and the Office of Community Wealth Building).

Neighborhood and Business Development (Michael A. Patterson, Chair; Mary Lupien, Miguel A. Meléndez, Jr.) 

Committee Charge: to review legislation from the Department of Neighborhood and Business Development, including legislation involving economic development, neighborhood, commercial and residential development, legislation regarding Neighborhood Services Center, Zoning and Map Amendments, and the Rochester Land Bank. 

Parks and Public Works (Mitch Gruber, Chair; Malik D. Evans, Jose Peo)

Committee Charge: to review legislation from the Department of Environmental Services, including street and water projects, and legislation involving city parks and facilities.

Public Safety, Recreation, and Human Services (Willie J. Lightfoot, Chair;  Mitch Gruber, LaShay D. Harris, Jose Peo)

Committee Charge: to review legislation from the Police Department, Fire Department, Emergency Communications Department, and Department of Recreation and Youth Services.

Council President Loretta C. Scott and Vice President Willie J. Lightfoot are ex-officio members of all committees.